3 under 3

Pregnancy number 3

Posted on: October 10, 2010

I can’t really explain pregnancy number 3… I knew I wanted one more child, but after 2 pregnancies affected by cholestasis, I was certain that I would get it again, and was terrified of having another baby at 31 weeks, or possibly even earlier. I am sure that having the two pregnancies so close together, and also the amount of stress I was under during the second pregnancy (due to uni work), were contributing factors to the severity of my problems with Molly, even though there is no conclusive evidence to suggest either theory. At the same time, I think I sort of liked the idea of another pregnancy, as a chance to get things ‘right’ – I was still grieving for those last precious weeks that I missed of having Molly growing inside me: feeling her movements, bonding with her, getting excited about, and preparing for her birth. So I put off thinking too much about contraception, and… well, obviously Tom and I are too fertile for our own good!

If people thought I was crazy for having 2 under 2, I don’t know what they thought when I grudgingly admitted I was having 3 under 3! Tom was absolutely not impressed. The poor guy was just getting used to having two, and wasn’t even convinced about having a third one ever. But to his credit, he eventually got over the shock and even managed to get a bit excited by the whole thing, towards the end of the pregnancy. He is a fantastic father and he works very hard to support us, and we are lucky to have him!

So, pregnancy number 3 was completely terrifying – I was convinced I was going to have this baby at 28 weeks, and was determined to do everything in my power to prevent it. I decided to try to be as stress-free as possible, and so didn’t work after the first few months. Life with two toddlers was stressful enough already, so casual teaching in Mt Druitt a couple of days a week was not hard to give up! (I also decided that during this ‘time off’ I should take up some further study to increase my chances of securing permanent part-time work when I returned to teaching – needless to say, it didn’t work out!)  

I committed myself to monthly blood tests, which became weekly later on, regular obstetrician visits, and two very expensive, but worthwhile, trips to a gastroenterologist, who put me on medication prophylactically when the obstetrician would not. Things went relatively well until 34 weeks when I spent a few days in hospital with elevated blood results, but, thanks to the medication I was already on, this settled and I was allowed to go home, with induction booked at 35 weeks. I felt incredibly relieved to have got so far, but I also knew that every extra week, or even day, was precious, and could mean the difference between spending time in the NICU and not. At this point I was visiting the hospital every few days for monitoring, and after continued good blood test results, the induction was postponed for two more weeks. I began to entertain thoughts of actually going to full-term and possibly even experiencing a spontaneous labour (both Molly and Tiernan were induced). However, I was also at the same time beginning to feel completely over being pregnant – especially when it came to running around after the other two, picking them up and bending down to change their nappies, etc. With a lack of sleep also thrown in, I was completely exhausted!

As it turns out, I didn’t have to wait much longer – after a slight rise in some blood test results, my obstetrician called game over. To be honest, I was relieved – I had got to 37 weeks (considered ‘full term’) and no longer cared about waiting for spontaneous labour – overrated if you ask me! Precious Neave was born on 16th April, 2010, and she was absolutely perfect.

We went home 24 hours after her birth, and got settled in at home quite quickly. My pregnancy with Neave was a valuable lesson in self-advocacy, as I believe that if it hadn’t been for my persistence in asking for the treatment I needed, then Neave could easily have been born at 34 weeks, if not earlier.

1 Response to "Pregnancy number 3"

[…] Okay, so here comes the next installment of my childbirth novel! For other installments, see here. I’ve also written a much more brief account of my pregnancy with Neave here. […]

Leave a Reply

