3 under 3

So how DID I get into this mess?

Posted on: October 10, 2010

How did I end up with three kids under three? If you had told me 4 years ago, when my husband and I were about to be married, that I would spend the next 4-5 years continuously being either pregnant and/or breastfeeding, I would never have believed it. Yet here we are!

Pregnancy number 1 was unplanned (literally a honeymoon baby). With me still having one year left of study before completing my degree, and Tom (my husband) earning an apprenticeship wage, we knew the road ahead would be tough, but we also knew we would somehow find a way through it. Our beautiful son, Tiernan, arrived 4 weeks early on 22nd June, 2007, after some unexpected pregnancy complications (Obstetric Cholestasis and Pre-eclampsia). Despite this, he was healthy and well, and we instantly fell in love with him.

I couldn’t bring myself to return to uni when he was only 5 weeks old, even though it was the last time my final subject was to be offered at the local campus. Deferring for a year would mean more work and a huge amount of travel later on, but the maternal instinct was too strong and I just wanted to be with my baby boy, not teaching full-time for 8 weeks, as well as trying to study and complete assignments. It was absolutely the right decision for me.

After a difficult start, Tiernan became quite an easy baby, with an even temperament and happy nature. I got lulled into a false sense of security and gave in to my ‘clucky’ side when he was only 8 months old. One baby was so easy, how could two be any harder? Plus newborns just sleep all the time anyway, so I would still have plenty of time for Tiernan. I managed to convince Tom that we should not ‘try’ for another baby, but just not ‘not try’. I was sure it would take a while… wrong! Within 2 weeks I was telling Tom I was pregnant, and he was looking at me in utter disbelief. I have to admit I panicked a little at that point. I still had yet to complete my degree and was going to find it difficult enough to get through the final prac and accompanying assignments with a 1-year-old, let alone being heavily pregnant as well. I wondered if I had made a huge mistake, but had no choice but to shrug my shoulders and get on with it. Plus I also knew that, despite the hard times, I would never ever regret becoming a mum again (and I was right about that, though the hard times were harder than I anticipated)…

1 Response to "So how DID I get into this mess?"

[…] here for a much more brief account of my pregnancy with […]

Leave a Reply

