3 under 3

Tiernan

Posted on: October 10, 2010

Part of my motivation for this blog is to take time to reflect on each of my children as individuals. Being so close together in age, there isn’t always a lot of time for me to spend one-on-one with them, but I always try to grab the opportunities that do arise. It’s easy to lump them all together as ‘kids’, ‘toddlers’, ‘babies’, but really it’s already obvious that they each have quite different personalities, which is reflected in the different ways they think about or do things.

Tiernan, my big boy who turned 3 in June, is becoming quite a thinker. He has an amazing memory and often surprises me with the things he says, sometimes about things that happened 6 months ago! He is at the stage where he wants to know the reason for absolutely everything – he would constantly be asking ‘why?’ if he knew the word, but instead he asks ‘what?’ Sometimes it’s incredibly frustrating, and sometimes I struggle to come up with an answer that will both satisfy his curiosity but not confuse him with too much detail. He also has an amazing vocabulary (apart from not picking up on ‘why’ yet!), and I love the convoluted way he expresses himself when he is unsure of the words! He is very loving and affectionate, especially towards his baby sister, Neave (she can’t run away yet!), and I love it when he climbs onto my lap for a cuddle and kiss. I’m trying to soak up all the cuddles I can now, because I know it may not be long before he’s not interested anymore.

Eating, as usual!

Sometimes he is incredibly sweet, saying the most lovely things that just make your heart melt. Last week I was getting ready to have dinner with some friends and was despairing of finding anything nice to wear. I settled on a dress, but felt frumpy and gauche in it, until my beautiful boy said, “Wow, beautiful dress Mummy!” He made my day and I walked out the door with my head held high! Of course, he is no angel – like all kids he is prone to the odd temper tantrum, and he also can get completely over excited and crazy sometimes (almost bouncing off the walls). But he is a sweetheart none the less!

Tiernan is simply gorgeous, with beautiful reddy-blonde hair. His name is Irish and it means ‘Lord’, so perhaps it’s our fault that he can be a bit of a tyrant when it comes to sharing toys/food/space/in fact anything he happens to want. However, that is the toddler/pre-schooler way, and we’ll give him some time to grow out of it!

 

Leave a Reply

