3 under 3

Neave

Posted on: October 11, 2010

Neave is just the sweetest little thing! She has these gorgeous, really big, blue eyes and she stares at you with such wonder that you really feel like a very special person indeed! It’s never hard to get a smile from her – just walk into her view and say hello. Her brother and sister adore her, and she loves the attention she receives from them (well, most of the time!). At almost 6 months old she is becoming much more mobile – she’ll grab onto anything within her reach and stick it straight into her mouth. She is enjoying her first tastes of solid food (well only rice cereal so far, but it’s early days), but, being a breastfed baby, can’t quite figure out what she’s supposed to do with her sippy cup full of water. She has almost mastered the art of rolling from her back to her front, but is often disappointed with the result since she’s always hated tummy time!

I feel so blessed to have little Neave. She is the baby I thought I’d never have after Molly’s traumatic arrival into the world. I can’t believe that, after having two premature babies, I finally got to walk out of the hospital with my baby in my arms 24 hours after her birth! Many people try to tell mothers that how they ‘get’ their baby isn’t important, as long as the baby is healthy in the end. This is partially true: I was able to get over some of the disappointment and shock that I experienced after both Tiernan and Molly’s births much easier because after it all, I (eventually in Molly’s case), got to take home two, beautiful, healthy babies. However, I still grieved for the small things that I missed out on, that were made impossible by the health risks I faced. Even though I faced the same risks in my pregnancy with Neave, and during her birth, I approached them differently, which enabled me to experience some of the things I had previously missed out on. It seems strange to say this, but I really feel that Neave’s birth helped me to let go of some of the things I’ll never have (like a spontaneous labour), and to be more at peace with what happened in my previous two pregnancies, and why. Of course, that’s not what I was aiming for in having her – in fact I was terrified that her birth would be even earlier and more traumatic than Molly’s. But it is a nice end result. It also means that I don’t ‘need’ to have any more! Although, I think I will always be a clucky person. I guess I’ll just have to learn to live with it.

So Neave will be our ‘youngest’. It will be interesting to see how she will fit in with her brother and sister as she grows. Already there are some aspects of her personality coming through – she is quite relaxed and happy most of the time, and enjoys sitting and observing the world around her. She also loves chatting, cuddling and being tickled. She sometimes gets upset when she’s overtired, and it can be difficult to get her to settle at these times, but she never gets hysterical like Molly used to! Apart from some ongoing minor problems with reflux/colic, and one short stint in hospital with bronchiolitis, it really has been smooth sailing so far with Neave, and I sure hope this continues (touch wood!). We absolutely love Neave to bits, and are so lucky to have her completing our little family. We can’t wait to get to know her more and watch her learn and grow!

Leave a Reply

