3 under 3

Are you trying to tell me something, Universe?

Posted on: March 22, 2011

There’s a joke my Dad loves to tell. I hope you’ll forgive me for the content, I do realise there have been devastating floods recently, which is no joking matter. Also, it pokes fun at Christians. Hope you can handle it, I promise it’s relevent.

Here goes:

There is torrential rain and the river is rising. A man, let’s call him Bill, has become trapped on his roof. A truck drives past, notices him sitting on his roof, and offers him assistance.

“No, thank you. God will save me.”

The flood waters continue to rise, and soon the roads become impassable. A boat passes by, notices Bill sitting on his roof, and offers him assistance.

“No, thank you. God will save me.”

The rain beats down relentlessly. Bill is still on his roof. The water is lapping at the eaves. A helicopter flies past, notices Bill on his roof, and offers him assistance.

“No, thank you. God will save me.”

Inevitably, when the rain does not let up, Bill drowns. He goes to Heaven. He asks why, in his hour need, God did not save his life.

“What are you talking about?” bursts God, indignantly, “I sent you a truck, a boat and a bloody helicopter!”

I couldn’t help thinking of this joke today, when I received three calls from life insurance companies (three different ones), offering funeral plan packages and income protection. Three! In one day!

So I ask again, is the universe trying to tell me something???

Leave a Reply

