3 under 3

Oh, little neglected blog!

Posted on: May 10, 2011

Dear Blog,

It’s been a bit quiet around here lately, hasn’t it? I’m sorry to say, you’re a bit like the pot plants I get so enthusiastic about when I first meet them. I say hello and promise that, this time, I’ll be a good Mummy and will water and feed them, and show them love. But then, because they don’t call out for attention (like my kids and pets do), the feeding and watering become less and less frequent, and eventually they shrivel up and die. Well blog, I promise this won’t happen to you. I will remember to feed and prune you, and stop in to check  on you.

But the truth is, I’ve been seeing someone else. Well, three ‘someone else’s’.

Are you mad? Let me explain.

A number of new things have entered my life in the last few weeks.

First of all, I’ve decided to return to casual teaching. It was going to be just one day a week, but even before I’ve started I’m about to make it two days. Blog, the bottom line is, we need the money. I can’t spoil you with tales of exciting adventures and fun activities, if there is no money to fund them. You understand, don’t you?

Secondly, I have taken up a new hobby. Sorry, Blog, but while you are good exercise for my brain, the rest of me is getting a little flabby. I need to get moving, out in the fresh air. So I’ve started rowing. A bit random, I know. My sister took it up a few months ago and is pretty brilliant at it (she may be off to the Paralympics next year!), and she convinced me to give it a go. It was so much fun! We went zooming down the river together in a double scull, the wind whistling in our hair and the trees on the bank sliding effortlessly past. Well, they slid effortlessly past when I wasn’t contributing to the rowing (which was often, as I kept nearly tipping us in every time I got my oar ‘stuck’). I’m sure I’ll get better with practise. Well, I can’t get much worse. I had my first solo row last weekend and ended up taking a dip in the freeeeeeeeeezing river. I’m not keen for a repeat, so I’m determined to get better. I promise I’ll update you on my progress, Blog.

The other ‘new’ thing is a new playgroup, on Monday mornings. It’s been a while since we’ve attempted a big, proper playgroup, because I find it a bit daunting with three to keep track of. But I really like this one. It’s run by the church and everything is very well organised, without being over the top. The parents are very friendly, and there are even some extra hands on deck – volunteers, who come along to help out, which is lovely. Best of all, I already know quite a few of the Mums, as they were in my original mothers group, from back when Tiernan was tiny. It has been wonderful to catch up with these families again. The only bummer – it starts at 9:30… on a Monday. This was the main reason I was scared off when my mothers group merged with the playgroup a couple of years ago. We are not morning people. However, now that Neave is 1 (that magical age when things suddenly get a bit easier), I think I can rise to the challenge of getting our butts over there by, say, 10. I think you will like playgroup, too, Blog. The kids and I do. It makes us happy. Can’t you be happy for us, Blog?

Don’t worry, Blog. I still love you. You help me make sense of my messy life. You help me to relax. It’s not the end.

Hey, with all this new stuff to write about, perhaps it’s just the beginning?

Love, Anna xxx

2 Responses to "Oh, little neglected blog!"

Great to have you back Anna.

He he. I just read this. I am the same with neglecting my blog of late, but I feel that I do want to keep it going when I can as it is the ONLY thing I do that is totally indulgent and for myself (even though I speak almost exclusively about the kids). It’s been great seeing you guys again in person rather than just in photos!

Leave a Reply

