3 under 3

A musical trip down memory lane

Posted on: January 6, 2013

Perhaps it’s because I will soon be entering my 30th year (!) but I’m suddenly feeling all nostalgic about things from my childhood… particularly the music that I hear playing in the background of many memories.

I guess as kids we are at the mercy of our parents when it comes to musical taste – most of us would not have had much influence over which tapes got inserted into the old cassette player.

When Tom thinks back to his childhood, he remembers Roy Orbison, The Beatles, Video Hits and The Phantom of the Opera.

I hear different tunes… by Madonna, Kate Ceberano, Cindy Lauper, and the Big One – John Farnham. My Mum had a huge crush on him back in the day, and I guess some of it wore off on me. I’m a little embarrassed to admit it, but for my 9th Birthday I asked Mum to take me to a John Farnham concert. Yep, my first concert ever was The Voice himself. We even waited outside the Sydney Entertainment Centre afterwards to try to catch a glimpse of him as he left the building. Real groupies.

Once I was old enough to start buying my own music, my taste started to diverge quite a bit from Mum’s influence. I now mostly listen to Alternative music, but do acknowledge and respect some fantastic musicians that are a bit more mainstream… people like Adele, Jessica Mauboy, and P!nk.

I got an iTunes gift card for Christmas and decided to use it to stock up on some of the great songs from my past. So far all I have bought is John Farnham’s Whispering Jack album, so maybe I’m not completely over him. In fact I’m listening to him now.

All of this has made me wonder what music my kids will remember from this time in their lives. The problem with listening to alternative music is that a lot of it is not exactly appropriate for children’s ears. Even though Triple J does do language warnings, I have been caught out when not paying attention. More than once, Tiernan had asked what a particular lyric means. Luckily, he has got the words wrong every time so far and we have got away with it, but probably not for much longer. So, do I switch stations or do I expose them to inappropriate themes and swear words, and hope it all washes over them? Tricky.

But I’m not going to get bogged down in the heavy stuff. I’m enjoying reliving my own childhood right now. Let’s just take the Pressure Down for a minute.

I think what’s more important is that we just ‘Make a noise and make it clear.’ So here i go: Wa oh oh oh oh oh oh oh. Wa oh oh oh oh oh oh oh. Yeah.

That felt good.

Leave a Reply

