3 under 3

Another milestone, Molly starts school!

Posted on: January 30, 2014

20140130-131508.jpg

So, Molly is at big school at last. We’re up to Day Three – the above photo was taken on Day One.

All is going well so far, although poor little Molly is finding it very overwhelming, and very exhausting. There have been lots of tears (hers, not mine), lots of ‘ feeling wobbly’ nerves, lots of ‘pep talks’, and lots of hugs with teachers aides at drop-off time. Poor sensitive little thing! I have to admit to being just a little bit surprised by all this, although deep down I knew it wouldn’t all be smooth sailing for her. She does have rather a flair for the dramatic. I am a little bit surprised that she’s the only one in her class to have cried every day so far, though. I wonder how long it will last? I’m not particularly worried about it, although it is a little heart breaking, having to prise her off me and walk away each day, while she cries that she just wants to be with me!

However, her teacher assures me that these episodes don’t last long, and that she is happy and participating well throughout the rest of the day. Plus, her face says it all at home time – happy, enthusiastic and brimming with news about what she did and who she played with.

Just like me, she has a few slight problems with adjusting to school, and she has told me all about them, in tears, on the way to school… She doesn’t like sitting on her bottom all day, she thinks the other children don’t like her (which we ended up agreeing is not the case, especially after I pointed out how happy one girl in particular was to see her on her second day), she doesn’t like wearing her shoes all day, and she misses me. I am told my issues when starting school were having to sit up straight all day (I might have been exaggerating this slightly), and I also had difficulty wearing my shoes full time. So, we can clearly see who she gets it from.

Despite all of this, I am confident that Molly will soon settle in to school. Being so friendly and social, she can’t help but make friends quickly. Academically, I think she will have an easier time than Tiernan, simply because she is better able to sit and focus her attention for longer, and is already keen to start reading and writing. Being interested is really the first step, so she has the advantage there.

Speaking of Tiernan, he has started Year 1 with confidence, so far. He didn’t seem keen for the holidays to end, so I was a little worried that he would be difficult to motivate of a morning. However, he has done a great job getting himself ready for school for these first three days. Who knows how long it will last, but it’s a good start anyway.

Tiernan has two teachers this year. I met both on the first day and I came away with good first impressions of them. His teachers also gave each parent a ‘Parent Survival Kit’, complete with minties, chocolate and tea bags, so I am practically won over already! I just hope Year 1 isn’t too serious for Tiernan. He’s a kid who appreciates the funny things in life, and it would be a shame to smother that with too much work and not enough play.

Each afternoon after school so far, we have been staying back at the Year 1 playground (which is awesome), so the kids can let off steam after a big day. Tiernan has been tearing around on the oval for a good thirty minutes each time, so it’s obvious he’s got energy to burn. Much better to let him do it straight away than have it pent up for the car trip home! I feel this a good strategy for a more peaceful afternoon and evening. I must remember not to book any after school appointments for a while though.

Meanwhile, Neave will be at Kindy two days per week, starting next week, so she’s also in for a bit of a shock. She’s been going one day for the last few weeks, and for the second half of last year, but this will be new to her. Awesome news for me as I will get two kid-free days at home, until I start working again soon. Neave seems to be adjusting well to the Kindy room. Her teachers report she has been opening up even more without Molly around, so this is good news. I think the second day each week will actually help her feel more comfortable there, as she’ll have more time to settle in and less time in between visits.

I have very much been enjoying our quiet days at home together! Neave has been asking frequently when it is time to pick Tiernan and Molly up, so she misses them a bit, but she is very happy each morning when she learns that it is another Mummy and Neavie day at home! I think it won’t be too long until she starts to get bored, though, so I will have to give Playgroup a call next week, and get more motivated for things like walks and trips to the park. But it has been a nice easing-in period this week.

So, now we’re all up to date on the school front. Fingers crossed it’s a good year for us all 🙂

Leave a Reply

